A Rainy Walk in Portland

img_4209

It’s been raining for months now in the Pacific Northwest. And it doesn’t show signs of stopping any time soon. During the long, gray winter months it’s easy to feel cooped up inside. Not that I don’t love laying on my couch and re-watching Gilmore Girls for the 64th time–because I LOVE that. But it’s hard to find inspiration when the only people you see all day are fictional characters. I decided to take a walk the other day–rain be damned!–to clear my mind, and I couldn’t believe how refreshing it felt.

My favorite way to unwind while walking is to listen to a podcast. Namely the Gilmore Guys podcast. Because if I’m not watching, I’m analyzing what I just watched. I swear this is normal. I love people watching too. There’s this tiny bronze beaver statue that some lovely individual dresses up each month. It never ceases to bring me joy. This month’s OOTD–a Columbia Gorge marathon beanie. I mean–just look at him!

img_4171

This was my first fall in Portland and I have to say–it surpassed all my expectations. It’s endlessly beautiful here. The changing leaves, the river, the beaver statue–all inspire me creatively. And it was totally worth walking in the rain.

fullsizerender10Where do you go to find inspiration? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo,

❤ Taylor ❤

3 thoughts on “A Rainy Walk in Portland

  1. Walking in the rain is the most stress-relieving, thought provoking thing. Also, solo road trips. I find that any time I can’t write things down (it’s wet/I’m driving) I suddenly think of all the things to write.

    Sidebar: Thank you so so much for introducing me to the Gilmore Guys podcast. I am a little ashamed that I had not heard of it already, and can’t wait to binge on my next long drive. Thoughts on the revival??

    Like

      • I will say in defense of the play scene–when I first watched by myself I thought it was funny but was a little confused by how long it was. THEN I rewatched the episodes with my mom and totally got it. We used to talk through the commercials, and since there were no commercials, we had a chance to discuss the show

        Like

Leave a Reply

