My Favorite Healthy Treat

img_4159

I have never been one to shy away from dessert. Ever. But in the last year or so I have changed my eating habits. At first, I was so sure I would miss all the processed food, but once I discovered I could create healthy versions of my favorite treats, there was no looking back.

This particular treat is my absolute favorite. It’s creamy, crunchy, chewy, rich–just plain delicious. I would honestly eat it every day. It is, however, high in calories, so I would recommend eating this in the morning after a work out or before a big hike. I’ve adapted this recipe from Fully Raw Kristina–who I absolutely adore. Read on to try it for yourself!

img_4158

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3-4 frozen bananas
  • 3/4 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup of fresh strawberries, chopped
  • 1/8 cup of cacoa nibs
  • 1/8 cups of pistachios, chopped
  • 3-4 dates, chopped
  • 1/8 cup of mulberries
  • 3 Hail Merry Bites, chopped (I like the dark chocolate and caramel sea salt flavors)

Place the frozen bananas into a high powered blender–I use a Vitamix. Blend until the bananas are the consistency of ice cream. Scoop mixture into a large bowl and place in the freezer to keep it from melting. Next, place the frozen strawberries into the blender. They should be the consistency of sorbet. Remove the bowl from the freezer and scoop the strawberry mixture into the bowl.

Swirl the banana and strawberries together with a silicone spatula. It’s important not to combine them completely, as you will lose the swirl effect. Add all of your toppings to the bowl. Enjoy!

img_4157

What’s your favorite healthy treat? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo,

❤ Taylor ❤

Leave a Reply

