The Best Cranberry Sauce

img_4318

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving has always been the cranberry sauce. It’s not what you hear most people say, but that’s because you haven’t tried this recipe yet. My aunt made this cranberry sauce every year when I was growing up (and always made an extra container just for me). Eventually, she gave me the recipe, and now I’m sharing it with you.

img_4320The thing I love most about this cranberry sauce is that it has dimension. It’s nothing like the canned stuff. This sauce is nutty, crunchy, sweet and tart all at the same time. It’s a staple at my family’s holiday dinners, and now, maybe it will be at yours.

Here’s what you’ll need :

  • 2 bags of fresh cranberries
  • 2 cups of apple juice
  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 1 apple (I used a green apple)
  • 1/2 cup of celery chopped small
  • 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts

Rinse cranberries and discard the bad ones. Add cranberries, apple juice and sugar to a large pot. Cook on med/hi until cranberries pop open. Reduce heat and simmer until liquid reduces and thickens. Cool. Add apples, celery, and walnuts. Stir. Refrigerate overnight.

img_4324

What’s your favorite part of Thanksgiving? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo,

❤ Taylor ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

